Q1. I would like a Permit to carry a concealed firearm in California. What do I have to do?
A. If you have a clean background (no convictions for a felony or any violent type misdemeanor), you need to fill out a CA CCW Application form. That form is included in the Nevada and Placer County application.
Q2. How do I apply for an California CCW permit?
A. You can go to this website and see what is required.
Q3. Do I have to attend a class to get an California Permit?
A. Yes, you must attend a New CCW Class. Most counties in CA mandate at least an 8-hour class. After you obtain your Permit, you must attend a 4-hour Renew CCW Permit every 2 years to keep your Permit active.
Q4. How long will it take to get the Permit?
A. It can take anywhere from 3 months to a year from the time you turn in your application until your Permit is issued. There is a large backlog in California due to the high demand for Permits.
Q5. Which should I do first: attend the New CCW Class or file an application with the Sheriff?
A. You can do it either way, but there are advantages/disadvantages to each. If you take the class first, the advantage is you will be shown many guns that can be easily concealed, various methods of carry, and you are given many examples of how to write your “good cause statement”. The disadvantage is the Certificate that is issued at the end of class is valid for 6 months, and may not be accepted by the Sheriff, since you may be looking at a 1 year wait. You then may be forced to take the “Renew CCW” class in order to get a new certificate with a current date. The advantage of filing the application first is you can take the class later and the certificate will have a newer date. Note: Nevada County Sheriff’s Office recommends you apply with them first to see if you are eligible to obtain a CCW, then they will notify you later to take the New CCW Class.
Q6. Is the application fee refundable if I do not qualify for a CCW permit?
A. No, the application fees and class fees are not refundable if you fail to get a Permit.
Q7. Can I be pre-approved before I pay for the class and the application fee?
A. No. Approvals are determined by the information on your Application and a background check.
Q8. What will I get in the class?
A. In the class you will learn the Firearm Safety Rules; see various models of handguns and methods of carry; learn about ammunition for your gun; CA firearm and concealed carry laws will be covered; you will be given examples of how to write your “good cause statement”; liability and insurance will be discussed and you will be given the 5 steps to aid you in becoming a marksman. You will then go into the firing range and shoot the required course of fire.
Q9. When does the CA Permit expire?
A. The Permit is valid for 2 years. To renew the Permit, you will then be required to take the 4-hour Renew CCW Class. Note: Your Renew CCW Class Certificate is only valid for 2 months, so don’t take a Class too early. Watch that expiration date – Nevada Co. only gives you a 30 day grace period to renew after your Permit expires!
Q10. How can I add or change a gun on my Permit?
A1. If you already have a CCW Permit, go to THE RANGE* with the gun you wish to add, pay a $25 fee, shoot the qualification course of fire and they will give you a Certificate to take to the Sheriff. The Sheriff will issue you a modified Permit with the added new gun.
A2. If you recently took the New CCW Permit Class at THE RANGE and have not yet received your Permit, go to THE RANGE* with the gun you wish to add & shoot the qualification course of fire (no charge if you purchased the gun at THE RANGE). Send an email to fred@TheRangeUS.com with the gun info and a new Certificate will be printed. The Certificate will be left at THE RANGE for you to pick up – usually the next day they are open.
*Note: Please call THE RANGE (530) 273-4440 prior to arriving to ensure a certified Rangemaster is available to sign the certificate.
Q11. How do I sign up for an California CCW Class? Is there room in the next class? What if I need to move into another Class? Can you sign me up?
A. Sign up here to check availability and enroll in a class, cancel or move into another class. Check our Calendar for class schedules. You can send your information for the Class and list your guns here.
Q12. I can’t find my class Certificate. How can I get another copy?
A. Send an email to fred@TheRangeUS.com requesting a copy – a copy will be left at THE RANGE for you to pick up – usually the next day they are open. Note: If you reside in Nevada or Placer County, he will email the copy to you since they require all CCW transactions to be done on-line. Additional information concerning Nevada CCW Permits can be viewed here. Placer Co. CCW Permit info can be viewed here.
Q13. Someone told me I need to fire 30 rounds per gun. Is that correct?
A. Yes if you have 1 gun on your Permit. If you have 2 or 3, you will fire a total of 60 or 90 rounds using the all of the guns you have listed on your Permit. For details, see the course of fire.
Q14. What size and how many guns can I list on my Permit?
A. Most counties limit you to 3 guns maximum, but there are exceptions. The Nevada Co. CCW website states “In order for inclusion on a CCW license in Nevada county, a weapon must be a revolver or semi-automatic pistol no smaller than .32 caliber and no larger than .45 caliber. No more than 3 (three) weapons shall be listed on the CCW license.” Placer County states the gun must be between .25 and .45 caliber.
Q15. What is a “good cause statement”?
A. While a few Counties in CA will allow you to use “Protection or Self and Family”, most will require you to provide a written reason detailing why you desire a CCW. A list of many reasons that have been accepted by various Sheriffs may be viewed here. Be sure to tailor it to reflect your own personal circumstances.
Q16. What are the current laws concerning purchase of firearms or ammunition?
A. Visit this website to see a list of FAQs.