CLASSES: CCW Permit Classes

NOTE:  In order to provide the most efficient CCW Class experience, we request that all CCW students sign up here for a CCW class.  This will allow you to provide your firearm information prior to the class date so the Instructor can prepare your Class Certificate.  If you can not enroll online, please fill out the online Information Form, or print the Firearms Information Form and return it to The Range prior the class date.

NEW California CCW Permit Classes – $80.00 8 hours

If you are interested in carrying a concealed weapon, this is the course for you. Our course is conducted in a clean, comfortable environment and will cover all the necessary information you need to be successful. During this 8-hour course, we will cover laws and regulations regarding carrying concealed weapons, how to protect yourself from liability, restrictions of a CCW permit, review of safety and shooting fundamentals, and shooting a qualifying target*.

Equipment Required

  • All handguns you wish to list on your permit (max. 3)
  • Eye & Ear Protection
  • 50 rounds jacketed ammunition†

*NOTE: Attending any CCW permit class sponsored by The Range does not in any way guarantee receipt of a CCW permit. The issuing of a CCW permit is subject to your local authority and may be accepted or refuted at their discretion. If the attendee is ineligible or denied, The Range will not issue a refund for the course.

†Total qualification is for 50 rounds, if you are bringing more than one firearm, you must bring ammunition for the calibers you need to qualify. (i.e. if you are bringing a .38spl revolver and a 9mm pistol, you should bring 25 rounds of each caliber).  The course of fire may be viewed here.

RENEW California CCW Permit Course – $60.00 4 hours

This course is required for those individuals who already possess a California CCW Permit and are approaching their permit expiration date. This course must be taken every 2 years, and can only be attended a maximum of 60 days prior to the expiration date on your permit*.  This course will update the permit holder on any new laws or regulations, review safety and shooting fundamentals, new equipment available, and re-qualify the permit holder with their firearms.

Note: Due to the long process of obtaining a CCW permit in the state of California, some Sheriff’s offices are no longer accepting New CCW permit class certificates if they are more than 6 months old.  If this sounds familiar, don’t panic.  Simply sign up for the Renew CCW course at The Range.  At the end of the class, the instructor will provide you with an updated New CCW Class Certificate.

Equipment Required

  • All handguns you wish to list on your permit (max. 3)
  • Eye & Ear Protection
  • 50 rounds jacketed ammunition†

*NOTE: Attending any CCW permit class sponsored by The Range does not in any way guarantee receipt of a CCW permit. The issuing of a CCW permit is subject to your local authority and may be accepted or refuted at their discretion. If the attendee is ineligible or denied, The Range will not issue a refund for the course.

†Total qualification is for 50 rounds, if you are bringing more than one firearm, you must bring ammunition for the calibers you need to qualify. (i.e. if you are bringing a .38spl revolver and a 9mm pistol, you should bring 25 rounds of each caliber).  The course of fire may be viewed here.

Arizona CCW Course – $100.00 2-4 hours*

The state of Arizona is a “Shall Issue” Concealed Carry Permit state, and allows non-residents to obtain an Arizona CCW permit which is accepted in 31 states, based on a background check† and shooting qualification. This course is offered by an NRA Certified Pistol Instructor and will supply you with everything you need to mail off your application.

The course includes:

  • 2 Fingerprint Cards (The Range staff will complete them for you before the class)
  • Qualifying Course Certificate‡

* All students already possessing a Qualifying Class Certificate or exemption will only need to attend for 2 hours

† Arizona will refuse any permit application presented by an applicant who falls under a description of a State or Federal Prohibitor as defined under these headings at the following link http://www.azdps.gov/services/concealed_weapons/permits/obtain/  Any applicant attending a class at The Range who is denied by the State of Arizona shall not be issued a refund for the class upon denial of the permit.

‡ Arizona requires the applicant to provide an authorized shooting course certificate, which includes: NRA classes, Hunter Education Certificate, CA CCW Permit, or DD-214). If you do not have an authorized course certificate or exemption, the instructor offers a qualifying Handgun Safety & Marksmanship Fundamentals Class and will issue a qualifying certificate for an additional $25.00 and a total class time of 4 hours